Main Cast for Book I

Let’s get this out of the way: I really would love to let you guys read Celadon Bay right away, but alas, I’m currently rewriting the entirety of the first few chapters of the book. Therefore, I came up with this idea, which at the time of writing this post, sounds SO good. Let’s see if it remains that way when I’m ready to publish.

The idea is simple: give you a small introduction to the main characters of the First Book of Celadon Bay using some snippets and quotes from what’s already in the book.

Because I’m first and foremost a freak with strong OCD tendencies, I’m also going to add pictures I found online of people that you probably don’t know (I sure don’t) who look extremely close to how they look in my mind.

So, without further ado, let’s begin this with the lead character:

 

JOHN

John-s
Yep, you’ve seen this kid in the cover of the first book.

 

“I might as well set things straight so we can move on to our own separate lives, but since I don’t know how to do that, I just point at my computer silently.”

Shy to the core, aren’t you, young man?

 

“What? But you’re…” and he drags me to his wardrobe, which has two doors on the sides and a huge mirror between them. “Just look at you. You need to work on your hair a bit, I give you that, but you have that baby face, which girls love, and those blue eyes of yours are certainly an asset, too. (…) And not only that,” he continues, ignoring me completely. “You have abs. ABS, JOHN! There’s no kid in the whole seventh grade sporting actual abs.”

“Ugh, I know it’s weird.”

“It’s not weird! It’s awesome! Girls absolutely love abs, and I wish I had some. I probably need to do some Kung Fu like you.”

Martin’s pep-talk.

 

“I mean, you’re the blonde guy with big, soulful blue eyes, all right? But other than that, you could be a print duct-taped to the wall and nobody would spot a difference. No offense.”

I guess Martin had enough of John’s shy side? Speaking of the devil…

 

MARTIN

Mart-s
We need to use a little imagination on this one, but honestly, it’s very hard to get an accurate depiction of the handsomest kid in the whole eight grade.

 

“He looks up and his beacon-bright smile shines immediately at the sight of me. Impossible not to notice his dimples, fully visible when he smiles like this. But if something about him catches your attention before his perfect smile; that would be his big, radiant, emerald eyes. Framed with thick, long and dark eyelashes, they just look like taken out of some movie or soap opera.”

John, as he encounters his cousin the very day he moves in.

 

“Not a minute later, Martin rushes through the noiseless, drag-less door, double checking the aisle before locking it behind him. Then he sets two long glasses over the empty desk and hides something in the narrow space between the bed and desk, so it can’t be seen from the doorway. Whatever he’s hiding there is something we’re definitely not allowed to drink. It’s the first registered time that my cousin makes me break a cold sweat.”

John, same day as previous quote.

 

“Don’t forget we have to go to that chick’s place before school.” I tell him, and his interest perks up a bit, replacing his frown. This is the only thing in the world that really interests Martin: Girls.

“Ah, fuck. Amanda. I almost forgot about her.” He takes a sip of his milk, a long one, and his glass is clear in one go.

“Wasn’t her name Delilah?”

“Was it? I have no clue.”

“Well done, little brother,” Alex says, shaking his head.

“Dude, seriously?”

“I gotta break up with her anyway,” Martin admits, like this is something normal people do.

No comments.

 

“Martin is as shallow as one can get. The mystery: girls really drown for him. You could attribute this to his looks, what with his bright emerald eyes and his perfect smile. But on top of that, this kid is confident, charismatic, and doesn’t have the slightest hint of shame if he decides to approach any girl. Just as he has no problems breaking up with them as soon as he finds someone who looks better, as it turns out. Like Delilah. He just met her last Friday at the beach, and started dating her the next day. Two days later, Monday morning, meaning today, he’s ready to dump her.

Like I said, he’s been doing this all the time, like following some sort of sick routine. Go to the beach, find a girl he likes, and conquer her. Toy around with said girl until he finds a new one. Break up with the old one. Rinse and repeat.”

I think John just said it all here.

 

VERONICA

vee-s
Aww, man. Veronica. She’d totally look like this if she was 20 years old.

 

“I shake my head without a word as a cute girl with the longest black hair I’ve ever seen enters the room silently, sitting a few rows to my left.”

Surprise, surprise. Someone noticed Little Vee the very first day of school.

 

“The girl with very long hair from my classroom is on the last steps, reading a book. At some point she notices and looks at me, and I might imagine it, but I think she’s smiling at me. I might not be my imagination, though: I see her front teeth from down here. They’re just a tad too big for her mouth. She goes back to her book, tucking a strand of black silk behind her ear.”

John, is that you making eye-contact with a girl?

 

“First of all, SHE’S SO NOT HIS TYPE. This young, small, slim, mostly-on-the-flat-side girl is NOT what Martin hunts for. He likes volumes, curves, bosom, hips, thick pouty lips, princess-like curls and make up. This girl is the polar opposite of this in pretty much every aspect. Zero volumes to show, no bosom whatsoever, no hips to bump along with, she also has somewhat thin, perpetually pursed lips that are also permanently sealed shut. It gets worse. This girl’s biggest flaw as a proper date for Martin is the fact that she just doesn’t speak. Like, not at all. You should see her at school. Boy. Does anybody know what her voice sounds like? I definitely don’t.”

Haven’t you gone too far there, Johnny?

 

“I know what you’re thinking: I’m making her look terribly awful and awkward. Fear not. As I just explained, this isn’t a bombshell. And that’s exactly her best trait. This girl isn’t hot. This girl is plainly adorable. She has this perfectly silky black hair falling on her back, the perfect contrast for her perfectly fair skin. This girl puts Snow White to shame, folks. She’s also in possession of the most amazing set of eyes I’ve ever landed my own on. They’re this icy gray that should look definitely cold and hard. Think again. She has warm, motherly eyes framed by an abundance of thin eyelashes. And the last selling point before I look like I’m head over heels for her: her smile. That’s what got me when I saw her in the staircase, the same day I found Martin with Leslie. Her front teeth are just a tiny bit too big for her mouth.

You guessed it. It’s that girl from our class.

Bring it on. I have a Lolita complex, and I don’t care. This is the most beautiful girl on earth. No tenth grade bombshell can compete with such perfection. Deal with it.”

Oh, I see now.

 

I’m going to leave it at that for now.

So, what do you think? Are the kids of Celadon Bay interesting enough to you? Are you also a writer? Do you think this kind of post is good enough? Then copy it and leave a link in the comments for me to check out!

And if you like what you see here, why don’t you subscribe? I’m pretty sure there’s a button for that to the right~

 

Anyways, if you made it this far, thank you for reading, and I hope to see you soon!

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started